Driving with a Suspended License
In Illinois, there are several ways the Secretary of State can suspend your driver’s license. Often times when a person’s driving privileges have been suspended they are unaware and continue to drive. Unfortunately, not knowing your license was suspended is not a defense and the consequences for a conviction can be severe.
Driving on a Suspended license is a class A misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $2,500 and a possible sentence of up to 1 year in jail. When you reach your third offense, there is a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail. That means that any person convicted of their third or subsequent offense, must serve a term in jail between 30 days and one year. In addition to any jail sentence you may receive for a conviction, the Secretary of State will also re-suspend your driver’s license for up to a year or more in addition to your current suspension.
When you are charged with Driving on a Suspended License, you need to hire the right attorney. I have defended hundreds of traffic cases in Northern Illinois and I want to fight for you. If you hire my office to represent you, I promise that I will work tirelessly to get the best possible resolution for your case. Just because you are charged with Driving on a Suspended license does not mean you have to be convicted.
FELONY DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE
If your license is suspended for a DUI and you have a previous violation for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License, the State’s Attorney may enhance your Charge to a Class 4 felony. This class of felony carries with it a possible sentence of 1 to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Furthermore, a felony conviction will damage employment prospects, possibly revoke professional licenses and create a lifetime ban on firearm ownership. If you are charged with Felony Driving on a Suspended license, you need an experienced attorney on your side.